The Next Level…

I started my current job in November and have enjoyed what I am doing.  My fear is that I am professionally plateauing.  I was doing a geographically bound search and where I am located is a bit out of the range I wanted to be; however, my job has provided me with new experiences to add to my resume.  We have been in the midst of a housing feasibility study (my first week was three straight days of housing meetings).  We have concluded that the project is feasible and now are waiting on the chapters to provide feedback and pull their information together.  A great overall professional experience for me whether the project breaks ground or not.

The campus is evolving and the community I work with is also young in its development.  There are tons of opportunities to develop programs that would potentially have long-term positive impact on student learning and development.  I know that I can make a difference here.  I know that I am in a good situation.

What I am looking for is the potential of upward mobility.  As of right now, there is no where to go.  I help supervise a student assistant, but I have been supervising student assistants for years.  I am yearning to get experience in supervising a graduate student or professional staff member.  I approached my supervisor about potentially hiring a summer graduate intern (especially since my supervisor will be out on maternity leave), so we have been working to try and convince people around here that it would be worth it.

I am vacillating back and forth in my mind about what would be the best move for me.  To push for my current institution to create a new assistant director level position within my office and apply for that.  To push for a graduate intern, once the rumored Student Affairs master’s program is up and running.  To look at other professional options.  To just wait things out.  I feel ready for the next level.  My work with the housing feasibility study hopefully proved to others (various VPs and directors) that I am ready for the next level.  I just need the opportunity.  Give me the chance I will not disappoint.

My audition will be my boss’s pending maternity leave.  I will be running the show in her absence.  It’s not the first time this has happened to me in my career.  In fact, I have always been working with pregnant women.  That’s another story for another day.

My hope is to be rewarded at the end of that time with something else.  I am optimistic but also realistic.  My guess is that there will not be a pot of gold waiting for me at the end of the maternity leave rainbow.  I am hoping that the doors will be opened to at least have the conversation of what is next.  That is the first step.  I would prefer more but that would be a start.

About Justin Sipes

Learner Input Strategic Achiever Analytical
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Next Level…

  1. C.J. Mathis says:

    I feel the same way!!! Two lateral moves, both for differing reasons. No real supervisory experience. Currently see nowhere for me to go in my current institution, although I love my job and think I could see myself at the institution for a while. Just gotta have faith that everything will work out as it should I guess.

  2. The past two jobs, my supervisors have gone on maternity leave during the busiest part of the year! This is the first year that I don’t have a pregnant boss.

Leave a Reply

