Generating Shared Knowledge…

I am doing a little experiment. I am not sure where it will go or what it will lead to. It is exciting to try something that might fail. To take a risk.  Worse case scenario, I am right back where I started.

For the past couple weeks, I have been rereading a lot leadership books and taking notes. I have been putting the notes in a running Google document.  It would be a quick reference of leadership books that I have read to help jog my memory and I would be able to access it wherever there is WiFi (I have a Chromebook and that is really the only way they work).  This way I do not need to carry a lot of books around with me or fumble through my Kindle to get to just the right passage or thought I am looking to share.

As I was rereading Poke the Box by Seth Godin, I decided that I needed to something with the knowledge I was cultivating.  I was bringing together in one place some really great ideas and thoughts on leadership from some amazing authors.  Most of the books I have read are business-related and I am sure that many people may have heard of the authors, but for some people this could be fresh and new.

Why not share what I am doing with others and ask them to get involved?

In Poke the Box, Seth talks about taking initiative.  To not wait for someone to tell you yes.  To take risks and see what happens.  Well, here is my initiative and risk.  I am sharing what I have started with you and I want you to help me.  Collectively, we can amass a great amount of knowledge and continually share it with others.  So why not?  You will have access to it, so will I, and so will everyone else.  We all benefit.

The document is public and if you would like to check it out you can do so here: Leadership Book Summaries. There is a better description in the document about what this is all about.  As I said before (and state in the document), I am not sure where this will go.  I have a couple ideas, but rather hear what people think and how they would like to contribute.

Join me on this experiment of generating shared knowledge. I think it will be a great adventure.

About Justin Sipes

Learner Input Strategic Achiever Analytical
This entry was posted in Book Review, Higher Ed, Leadership, Personal, Professional Development, Student Affairs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

