Rush…

Black and White Image of a car driving on the highway.

Image is from http://www.stockfreeimages.com. I don’t take pictures that look this good.

In just a few short days (well 10 to be exact), I will be starting my trek across the country to Tampa, FL.  I will be making stops in Phoenix, AZ, San Antonio, TX, and New Orleans, LA.  I will not be stopping long enough to enjoy what the cities have to offer as I want to get from point A to point B as quickly as possible.  I think about that and realize that my impatience when it comes to driving is the antithesis of my day to day behavior.  I am typically more focused on the process and therefore I am not in a rush for the final product.  Let’s have things form organically.  Let’s see where this takes us.  Do I want to see results?  Of course I do. My top strength is Achiever.  I always want to be accomplishing something.  However, the process is just as important if not more.

I find this dichotomy interesting.  This is the second time in two years I will be trekking across the United States.  With this upcoming trip, I will have been in over half of the continental states.  Yet, I could only really tell you about a couple of these states and cities.  Why am I in such a rush?  Why do I want to cover the journey as quickly as possible?

I don’t really have that answer.  The impetus is to get there and get there fast.  To push myself an average of 13 hours a day of driving.  There is no need.  It’s not like I have a job a to start at this point and time (but that is for another upcoming post).  Still my imperative is to rush.  I wish it was different.  I wish I could get past this impulse.

What does this have to do with this blog?  I am not sure.  Just things I have been thinking about and wanted to get down.

About Justin Sipes

Learner Input Strategic Achiever Analytical
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

