BR1 – The Hunger Games

This is my inaugural book review.  I am almost ashamed to admit that it is The Hunger Games, but this is the most recent book that I read.  Honestly, it has put the spark back in my reading and propelled me to start reading more regularly.  I was quite surprised by the book and was not expecting to finish it within 36 hours of starting it.  The only reason I started reading it was because I could not find something else to read on my partner’s Kindle during my recent visit to Tampa.  In fact, I tried to resist purchasing the second book in the series, Catching Fire, but that Suzanne Collins ended the first book in such a way that you HAVE to purchase the second book.  So as I waited in McCarran Airport, I succumbed to the urge to learn more about Katniss, Gale, Peeta, and satisfy my imagination of the upcoming revolution spurned by these characters and their love triangle.

I got so caught up in the Hunger Games phenomenon that I found myself doing quizzes on Sporcle to test my knowledge of the first book.  The weird thing is that I did not find the book to really be overly compelling.  It was a good narrative.  Not great.  Just good.  Straightforward and matter of fact.  I could picture Panem and the locations but not because of the descriptions provided by Collins.  She provided enough information to keep things moving and avoided going way in depth about every little detail, something that I appreciated.  It allowed me to generate the world myself.  I have not seen the movie (though I have seen previews), so that did not interfere with my own generated images of the characters, landscapes, and action.  I created MY Panem with the brief detail from Collins.

As I think more about the book, I feel that the greatest part was the premise of the novel. I was asking myself, what would I do if I was thrust into the positions the various characters found themselves?  Could I take the place of a sibling?  How would I fare in the Hunger Games?  What district would I be a part of in Panem?  If pushed to the extremes, what am I capable of?  These questions are what kept me reading.  It was these questions that had me swiping my partner’s Kindle Fire at a feverish rate.

I was hoping I could get away with reading just one.  As I state above, that just isn’t going to be the case.  I have already started book 2, Catching Fire.  I am assuming I will need to read book 3, Mocking Jay, as well.  Overall, I was pleasantly surprised and have a feeling that the other two will be just as good.  It is a little crazy to think that Lionsgate did not greenlight all three movies to be made at the same time, similar to Peter Jackson’s Lord of the Rings Trilogy, as they wanted to wait and see how the first movie fared.

Oh well, back to the Kindle…

About Justin Sipes

Learner Input Strategic Achiever Analytical
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

