What Does a “LIKE” Really Mean?

I am not a huge fan of Facebook and I am not scared to admit it.  I really only have an account anymore because of my job and some volunteer work I do.  I help manage our office Facebook page, office account, and a Facebook page for an ACPA commission.  I don’t think that I have posted a personal update in a few months.  With Twitter and Google+, I just don’t see the point anymore.

That leads me to this thought, “What does a ‘LIKE’ really mean?”  I am convinced that there are now individuals out there who “LIKE” any status they see.  From managing my office Facebook page, I have found a few individuals who “LIKE” every single post, regardless of the content of the message.

Does a “LIKE” have the same impact it did when the little thumbs up icon was originally released?  I would argue it doesn’t.  With the advent of mobile apps and Facebook now at everyone’s finger tips, any one can “LIKE” a status or update any more.  My guess is this is happening more and more without people actually reading through the messages.  Almost as if there is a “blind liking” phenomenon.  I am not sure if this is a concept that has developed because of “brand trust” or simply bored millenials with nothing better to do and receiving notifications every time there is an update to their Facebook stream.

Have others been experiencing this “blind liking” phenomenon?  What are your thoughts on the importance of a “LIKE”?

About Justin Sipes

Learner Input Strategic Achiever Analytical
This entry was posted in Higher Ed, Personal, Student Affairs, Technology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

