Let’s Do This…

I am not new to the blogging scene as I have had a few personal blogs and have used blogs for class assignments.  This is however my first time using wordpress.com as the medium for my thoughts.  I am happy with what I have seen so far, and I am sure that I will learn more as I go along.

Just hanging out with Dave...

This is also my first time writing about my thoughts on my profession and different encounters I experience as a new professional for the second time.  Let me provide some background to help get those of you that do not know me that well up to speed.

I graduated in 2006 from UMBC (University of Maryland, Baltimore County) with a B.S. in Biochemistry/Molecular Biology.  I knew that I wanted to do student affairs, but did not make this decision until March of that year and many deadlines for graduate programs had already passed.  I decided to work for two years to make sure that student affairs was really what I wanted to do with my life, before making a two year commitment to grad school.

I started working as a new professional at Goucher College in Towson, MD.  I worked for the Office of Community Living and Multicultural Affairs (OCLMA) as a Community Living Coordinator (Area Coordinator).  I did this my first year year and then in my second year transitioned to the Community Living and Student Center Coordinator position.  This was a split position with part of my time in OCLMA and the other half in the Student Activities Office.  In my two years at Goucher College, I was fortunate enough to get experience in the functional areas of residence life, student activities, student union, judicial affairs, multicultural affairs, leadership development, and orientation.

After two years, I still loved what I was doing, so graduate school was the next step.  I went to Bowling Green State University and worked in the Greek Affairs Office with the Panhellenic Council.  My two years at BGSU were absolutely fantastic and have prepared me for coming back to another professional position.

Now I find myself at Sonoma State University in Northern California.  I am working as the Campus Life Advisor (CLA) in the Center for Student Leadership, Involvement, and Service (CSLIS), which is a part of the Division of Student Affairs and Enrollment Management (SAEM).  I have been here for about a month right now and must say that I know I am going to be challenged and will love what I am doing.  My position is a combination of student organization services, Greek life, marketing & pr, budget management, advising, supervising, technology, and so much more.

So that is me.  My future posts will be about my adventures in and thoughts about student affairs.  Names will be changed to protect the innocent (and the not so innocent).  This is will also provide me a forum to reflect and sometimes spit venom.  Who knows.  I have an hour commute each way everyday.  It gives me a lot of time to think about things.

Until next time…

-Justin

About Justin Sipes

Learner Input Strategic Achiever Analytical
This entry was posted in Student Affairs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

